Performances of Mists

Beyond Xenakis

Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival

13:00, Friday 25 November 2011
St Paul’s Hall
HD1 2RD Huddersfield Yorkshire
United Kingdom

Xenakis produced four mature works for solo piano, three of which feature in this recital: the “symbolic” music of Herma, through the expansive, chaotic Mists, to his brief tribute to Ravel. Prins (external link)’ new work for piano, midi-keyboard and video projection forces a rethink of reality, while Kreidler (external link) fills the hall with multiple transformed instruments and Ablinger (external link)’s transparent lines define their own listening space.

Book via the hcmf// website (external link).

Iannis Xenakis Herma 196110
Johannes Kreidler Klavierstück 5 200512
Iannis Xenakis Mists 198012
Stefan Prins Piano Hero #1 20119
Stefan Prins Piano Hero #2 2011, rev 2012*6
Peter Ablinger 6 Linien 20046
Iannis Xenakis à R. (Hommage à Ravel) 19873

Plus-Minus at City

City University

19:00, Tuesday 29 November 2011
Performance Space, City University (external link)
College Building, St John Street
EC1V 0HB London
United Kingdom

Aldo Clementi Madrigale 19799
Simon Steen-Andersen Study for string instrument #1 20075
Alex Hills 5 Resonance Studies 2011*10
Iannis Xenakis Mists 198012
Newton Armstrong Too Slow, for Milton 2011*3
Johannes Kreidler Klavierstück 5 200512
Iannis Xenakis Dikhthas 197914

Choral Preludes

Voix à la Maison du Peuple

19:45, Saturday 21 April 2012
Maison du Peuple (external link)
37 Parvis de Saint-Gilles
1060 Brussels

Mark Knoop presents an intriguing mix of repertoire, from Xenakis’s arborescences to Ablinger (external link)’s blending of well-known voices with the piano sound and Bryn Harrison (external link)’s mesmeric miniature. A new work by Michael Finnissy (external link) references Bach and Brahms.

Iannis Xenakis Mists 198012
Peter Ablinger Voices and Piano (selection) 1998-
Bryn Harrison Quietly Rising 20083
Michael Finnissy Choralvorspiele (Koralforspill) 2012¤33

Xenakis 90th birthday

Griffith University Queensland Conservatorium

15:30, Sunday 27 May 2012
Basil Jones Orchestral Hall
140 Grey St
South Bank Brisbane Queensland

A celebration of the 90th anniversary of Iannis Xenakis’s birth with Ben Marks trombone, Tristram Williams trumpet, Graeme Jennings violin, and Mark Knoop piano, alongside students from the Queensland Conservatorium.

Iannis Xenakis Mists 198012
Iannis Xenakis Akea 198613
Iannis Xenakis Keren 19867
Iannis Xenakis Dikhthas 197914
Iannis Xenakis Eonta 1963-6420
first performance in The United Kingdom
first performance
first performance in Belgium