Performances of Three Windows

Sound Studio Concert

City University Concert Series

19:00, Tuesday 16 February 2010
Performance Space, City University (external link)
College Building, St John Street
EC1V 0HB London
United Kingdom

City University presents a concert of electroacoustic works with guest artist Mark Knoop. Featuring a new work for piano and live electronics by Newton Armstrong (external link), alongside Evan Johnson’s enigmatic essay and Luigi Nono’s 1976 masterpiece for piano and tape. Also new electroacoustic works by Horacio Vaggione, Erik Nyström and Adam Asnan.

Admission £5/£2.50 concessions. (external link)

Evan Johnson Dehiscences, Lullay (“Thou nost whider it whil turne”) 20058
Luigi Nono .....sofferte onde serene... 197614
Newton Armstrong Three Windows 2009-10*12

Kämmer Klang

20:30, Tuesday 4 May 2010
Cafe OTO (external link)
18-22 Ashwin St, Dalston
E8 3DL London
United Kingdom

More Kämmer Klang featuring violinist Aisha Orazbayeva, Vicky Wright clarinet, curator and cellist Lucy Railton (external link). Also an improvised set with Seb Rochford drums, Leo Abrahams guitar, and Tim Harries bass.

Newton Armstrong Three Windows 2009-1012
Luciano Berio Sequenza VIII 1976
Morton Feldman Durations 2 19604
Helmut Lachenmann Ein Kinderspiel 198017
Damien Ricketson Same Steps 200710

The Ghost of Morton Feldman 2

Grønland Kammermusikkfestival

Ny Musikk

14:00, Saturday 5 June 2010
Cafeteatret (external link)
Hollendergata 8

Mark Knoop performs in Ny Musikk’s Grønland Kammermusikkfestival (external link).

Morton Feldman Extensions 3 19527
Chris Dench heretical bagatelles: KS 2009*4
Newton Armstrong Three Windows 2009-1012
Morton Feldman Intermission 5 19524
Bryn Harrison Quietly Rising 20083

In context

Image Sonores XIII

20:30, Friday 16 December 2011
Ancienne Église Saint-André
place du Marché

As part of the 13th festival of live electronics organised by the Centre Henri Pousseur (external link), Mark Knoop performs selections from Peter Ablinger (external link)’s ongoing cycle Voices and Piano, including two new Voices written for the occasion; Newton Armstrong (external link)’s new work for piano and live electronics; and Matthew Shlomowitz (external link)’s 2010 piece for piano and sampler keyboard.

Newton Armstrong Three Windows 2009-1012
Peter Ablinger Voices and Piano (selection) 1998-*
Newton Armstrong Too Slow, for Milton 20113
Matthew Shlomowitz Popular Contexts 2010¤30
first performance in The United Kingdom
first performance
first performance in Belgium